Conquer

Today’s daily prompt, conquer, leads my mind on several trains of thought.

First, I am a doer. I enjoy accomplishing things and finishing tasks. I have been working on a sewing project for a couple weeks, and today I was able to conquer some hand work that complete the final ouches on 2 of the outfits I have been working on. Hand sewing is my least favorite part of the trade, but it is vital on most projects in some way or another. Today I bit the bullet and was able to mark 2 things off my list!

Second, everyday I try to work toward progress. Yesterday I took the next step in one area I am trying to improve myself, follow up with a phone call tomorrow. My endless list of farm projects and ideas is being tackled one day and one thing at a time. I ordered pullets and I have plans to order meat cockrels this coming week. Supply lists have been made for a lean to, chicken coop expansion and yet to come are the possibilty of chicken run and hay storage. One day at a time, one thing at a time I am a conquerer.

Thirdly and lastly, and most importantly, conquering habits. This thought has the most meaning as I sit here and share with you today. When I was in high shool, we had a class, life skills where we took tests, solved logic puzzles, learned about homemaking skills, etc etc. One book that we read, studied and learned from was 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens. I can no longer even remember who wrote it, but I encourage you to take a look at it. The theme that rings throughout the whole book is begin with the end in mind. The biggest lesson I took away from that book and that study was never jump into something without proper planning and in idea of what you will need to get where you are going. Without a plan, I have no real hope of accompishing or getting anywhere.

We talked a lot about habits in that class, and I never realized how much your habits shape the person you are, as well as the person you become. I like to focus on good habits, but I have several bad ones, just like anyone else. My goal and challenge to myself is to continue working and bettering myself and my habits.

This morning, Pastor Jeff talked about how God sees people through their heart, not their outward appearance. I get an opportunity to do this everyday at my job, I get to practice. Not every customer that comes in, is someone that looks approachable or even like someone I would usually enjoy talking to. My job does not give me the choice of looking through them, but gives me a chance to talk to every single person that comes through the door. Jesus would talk to every single one that came through the door even if it was not his job or something he was required to do. I have come a long way when it comes to people and I hope to continue to make progress conquering my habits and my attitude.

 

via Daily Prompt: Conquer

Leave a Reply

