Daily Prompt: Artificial

Artificial…. wow. Several things cross my mind when I think about the single word artificial. These days as we strive for healthier living, we have artificial everything, even milk, eggs, sweeteners and sugars…. and many many artificial people.

I strive to be a genuine person. Honesty is a trait I value greatly, and because I am honest and genuine unfortunately I expect to be dealt the same from others. There is no reason for dishonesty.

Today, even and especially the role models we have to look up to are not genuine. Pictures are airbrushed and photoshopped for us ladies to strive to be something we can never be. Honestly, who would want to be the person in that picture anyway? If you are, forget cookies, chocolate, donuts, the list goes on.

Some enjoy wearing make up and jewelry, which is great for them. But I no longer hold myself to such a standard. I am practical. My wardrobe is for practicality. I wear what fits and allows me to do my job properly. I am not talking about working a donut counter as my job here. As any horse enthusiast will tell you they have at some point experienced their jeans rubbing raw spots on their legs. I wear the jeans I do because they do not rub. They are far from designer, and I am sometimes lucky enough to find them on sale or clearance.

As a person, an acquaintance, a friend, a neighbor, the best thing I have to offer is being genuine. When others learn that I speak truth, and I keep my word, my reputation builds itself. There is no reason to portray I am someone or something I am not.

I have nothing to hide, and have learned it is easier to be myself than try to act like someone I am not. I had someone that enjoyed my company for awhile, because they saw a potential in me to be someone else. What they did not realize that I can only be me. My personal goal is to be the best me that I can be and maximize the gifts and talents that I have been blessed with. Outside of that, I have no obligation.

I learned a while back that the only thing hiding behind a mask does is make the truth coming out harder to accept. I have no reason to act like anyone other than me! Loving myself and accepting myself is still something that I am learning to do and I still have a rough time with it a good bit of the time. That is only because I forget that God made me just the way I am for a reason. He only wants me to be me. And he only wants you to be you! Being myself is so much easier than trying to act like someone I am not. I hope to remain genuine to myself so that I can be the best me that I can be.

via Daily Prompt: Artificial

Leave a Reply

