Victory

Sitting in church this morning God reminded me of a couple things. Dad and I shared a good conversation last night that I will share about in a minute. The sermont his morning was about one of my favorite passages, Ephesians 6:10-13. The sermon about arming ourselves to stand against satan, led to talking about how the fight and the battle with satan is already over! God has already given us the victory! That is what my post is about today.

Several years back, I was involved with a winter series youth rodeo. When I was younger and running youth circuits I was competeive and always in the thick of the points and chasing them. To make a long story short enough to blog about, my horse got hurt and a friend lent me hers. This horse was a big step up from mine and I found myself in the lead of points standings in barrels, something that had never happened before.

I had chased buckels several times, and been within a hair, but never able to take one home. So I prayed. God, I know that a buckle is a stupid thing to desire, but I do. If You let me win that buckle, I will give all the praise and glory to You!

Imagine my surprise when I won not one buckle in that series, but 2! There is only one way that that could have happened! I learned that no matter how small something is in the scheme of things, God cares about me, and about you, and He wants to bless us! God wants to give us the desires of our hearts, and all the praise and glory for not only that accomplishment, but every other trophy, ribbon etc that I have ever been lucky enough to win, has been because of Him!

Another victory happened for me last night, this one did not come with a ribbon, or a trophy, or even a trip to the pay window. I raced last night, for what was probably the last time this season, and my horse has not been holding up his half of the partnership very well this season. I knew he liked this particular pen, so I hoped last night would be the night.

Since a horse accident in 2008, my riding ability has not been what it once was. I have made progress, but I have battled everything from balance issues, to not being able to keep up with my horse etc. God promised my parents I would recover 100% and I believe that He will restore me to 100% there is no doubt whatsoever in my mind. Last night, I kept up with Jim the whole trip and we ran at the tail end of the first division! It was a good feeling, because just a short while ago, I was struggling to keep up with him.

The bottom line of all of this is God is good! He keeps His promises and He does indeed work everything for our good. My trust in Him has grown throughout the past few years, and my faith. Everyday I hope to continue to improve.

Leave a Reply

