The Wind

When I think of Wind, I think of freedom. With freedom, comes responsibility. The winds of change affect everyone, especially in their late teens and early 20’s.

Change is a big deal, especially when it comes to life lessons and life decisions, like going to college, what job or profession to choose, where to live, purchasing a car and the best way to spend your money. I have always avoided making decisions and the above listed were no exvception.

When I was younger, I was very involved in 4-H, Impact Girls Ministries, and busy with school along with other programs like Junior Leaders and Junior Fair Board. Going away to college was a big decision for me and one of the hardest things I have done. I remember thinking how I was going to get through it, but then I got a hold of myself. I made my mind up to take it one day at a time. I went home almost every weekend and took care of my horses that my sister looked after through the week. It was a big comfort, even though the 2 hour drive was not always pleasant.

I started looking for an internship as part of my degree, and I loved working with the horseman that took me on. I do not think he realized the challenge he was in for, but I learned more in the 2 summers that I worked with him, I returned for a second summer after college, than I had in many years prior. It was a decision that I had to make and it changed me.

Upon graduating I started looking for a job. It was not the easiest process, after sevveral interviews, and working at a horse barn for several weeks, I started working where I am currenly employed. It was a big decision, and it changed my life. It was the plan He had for me though and the job has been a good fit for me. I have been able to grow as a person and I have been able to push myself outside of my comfort zone.

Wind has blown change my way, from vehicles, when my trusty Chevy got traded, to jobs, to horses and even friends. It took me awhile to learn, but God puts me right exactly where He wants me. As long as I am open to Him, I am a tool for Him to use as a light for those around me. Today I encourage you to roll with the wind and take the challenge of change in stride so that you are able to grow and learn about yourself, and so that He can use you right where He puts you!

Wind

2 thoughts on “The Wind

  1. Laurie says:

    Very nice, really. – Winds of change happen all through life. It keeps life interesting, and us growing in Him.
    Laurie

    Like

Leave a Reply

