Following your dream

Everyone has a dream, even if they are not sure what it is. I discovered my dream when I was 9 or 10 and watched a PRCA rodeo event on the TV. I decided then and there that was what I wanted to be, that was what I wanted to do. Every decision I have made since has been because I am chasing that dream.

I have a luxury few do. I live with my family and run the farm, but that allows me to chase my dreams. There are currently 7 horses in the barn, one due in about 2 weeks. I raise and train equine athletes, and when I was in high school, I got to go Nationals with my childhood mount.

A couple years later, I had a setback when a horse rolled on me. By God’s grace and mercy I am back to doing what I love to do. He gave me my dream and He has put people in my life to encourage me and help me get as far as I have toward reaching it. I believe everything happens for a reason. I also believe that through hard work, dedication and perseverance you can accomplish anything you set your mind to.

I would not trade the life that I have right now. Sure there are things I would eventually like to change, but someday I plan to look back and be very proud of what I accomplished and what I achieved in this phase of my life as I chased my dream. I have watched others that I grew up with walk away from horses, but it is in me deeper than that.

Everyone has their own dream, their own plans, their own goals. We all encounter setbacks and delays, but that does not mean we should quit trying. Everyone should have the opportunity to chase their dream while they can. So I encourage you, even as you are reading this, to dream big! Stretch yourself and reach out for it. Do not be afraid of hard work, because in the end it is all worth it! Every morning reminds me that every sacrifice I have made is worth it when I have horses nicker at me and tell me good morning. Every time I saddle up and take a horse out to ride and work, I am reminded it is worth it, even on frustrating days. Those frustrating days make you stronger and more prepared for the challenges and road ahead. Embrace them, take them head on, so that you will reach your dream!

 

Dream

Leave a Reply

