Cinco De Mayo!

I am proudly an American! but celebrating Cinco De Mayo was in the air today! I was reintroduced to Mexican cuisine just over 2 years ago and have frequented a local restaurant regularly since then. No, I did not go today, but Spanish inspired things have been popping up in my mind lately.

As I have mentioned before, Josefina was my favorite American Girl Doll, and I played with her a lot as a kid. Her clothes always fascinated me with their simple but almost elegant style. Recently I have started sewing outfits, for dolls, that have the Spanish style that Josefina would have worn. I have enjoyed putting together the camisas and skirts, choosing prints that reflect the Spanish culture and lifestyle.

With it being Cinco De Mayo, I thought I should share my latest sewing project, as it totally put me in the Spanish mood today!

 

0505161905.jpg

Please be look at my beloved Josie with gentle eyes. I have had her for many years and we have shared many many memories! Some of those memories left scars and marks, but you can tell that she has been well loved!

This outfit is another from the American Girl pattern, made by Butterick. Since this was my first time making this pattern, I followed the instructions to the letter, and had to make some alterations when it was finished. The neck line on this was way too loos and saggy, so I added a couple pleats by hand to bring it up to where it belonged. There is more than half of a yard of trim on this camisa and it just brings everything together! I really liked the blue patterned fabric that I found for this skirt. I love the design and the colors. The burgandy belt pulls the whole look together! I burnt the ends of the ribbon so that it will not ravel even after hours of use and wear.

I enjoyed sewing this outfit up on a dreary rainy day here in Ohio. The colors and the final product just bring a smile to my face! I still have two dresses waiting to be sewn, maybe tomorrow afternoon, and I cant wait to take and post a picture of my latest work! The only negative thing is then I have to figure out what to work on next! I have several ideas, but narrowing them down is not always easy!

Stay tuned for the fourth and final Spanish style dress! Coming soon!

Leave a Reply

