Guineas are here!

Since I brought my chicks home a few weeks ago, I have been thinking about Guinea Hens and researching them etc. I learned a lot! They are more like turkeys than chickens. My mom says they are ugly, but I have already enjoyed listening to their chirps. The four of them are louder than I think the 14 Americanas ever were combined.

IMG_20160419_173730_659

My four little Guineas! They are happy under the heat lamp 🙂 however, it is warm enough in the coop, I moved them out there inside their box.

I can’t wait for them to grow! I really enjoy watching things change as they mature. It won’t be long and they will be out in the yard scratching and pecking, keeping the bugs and insects at bay.

Anyone interested in possibly getting this type of chicken, they do not play well with others. I had thought about getting a few more Americanas, but when I asked about putting them in the same box to bring home, the salesman said Guineas don’t get along with others. I’m hoping they will at least be friendly enough to leave each other alone when they go outside together.

Guineas are also known for their protective qualities as well as wandering a little bit. It will be interesting to see if they really do prefer to roost in trees, although I hope to have them in before they go to roost, as I would not want predators to be able to get them in trees over night.

I am very much looking forward to the next couple of weeks as the birds change and grown, the Guineas and the Americanas and to see which of them are hens and roosters. The next couple weeks I am going to focus on taming them and handling hem often so that I can catch them if and when needed.

It has been enjoyable going to the coop each morning and several times through out the day to see the chicks and watch their feathers come in as well as their colors change. My little farm is growing and I am enjoying every step of the way!

Leave a Reply

